Hi! My name is Jana and I used to be a Professional Family Child Care Provider in Stow, Ohio. I was in the business from January 1991 through October 2015. I spent approximately 11 of those years as a Type B Certified provider. I offered a safe, loving environment and prided myself on quality care. I enjoyed putting together and teaching my own Preschool Curriculum 4 mornings a week and prided myself on 'my' full-time children being fully ready for kindergarten upon leaving my care. Communication between myself and my families was very important to me. I utilized a variety of ways to achieve this. I published a monthly newsletter, sent home daily notes for infants year-round and preschoolers during the school year, and I maintained an active private Facebook Group page for my families.

I typically had an average enrollment of approximately 15 children in my home daycare, Step By Step Child Care & Preschool. Of those, a few were usually enrolled full-time, a few were enrolled part-time, and the remainder were enrolled as drop-in only. I averaged 6 children at a time per day. Due to the nature of this business, I kept a waiting list and interviewed for new placements as openings occurred.

In addition to my child care business, I continue to enjoy being the administrator of a very active world-wide daycare group online. This group is called Provider's Playground and consists of not only family child care providers, but preschool teachers and daycare center employees and directors. This group is a great source of ideas such as for our preschool curriculums and also for support. If you are a child care provider, please feel free to join us. You can find the private group 'Provider's Playground' on FaceBook.

As far as my educational and work background, I hold a high school diploma and an Associate's Degree in Medical Secretarial. I formerly held a position as the Word Processing Secretary (in the late 80s) for Easter Seal Society for 3 counties in the state of PA. Pertaining to child care, I have taken numerous workshops and classes over the years in such topics as child development, nutrition, health and safety and many more. Since 'retiring' from the child care business in late 2015, I'm currently now employed full-time with Amazon.

Outside of my child care job, I am a mom to 4 grown children - 3 girls and a boy, and a grandma to 4! I love to stay active and healthy. I enjoy going to the gym, especially spinning classes. I enjoy cycling and am proud to say I successfully completed 2 150-mile Bike MS rides in the state of Ohio. I enjoy working on this website which I have created using html myself. I used to teach HTML online and create daycare websites for providers. I love to go to movies, out to dinner, love to read, enjoy going to the beach/lake in the summer, and attending various local events and attractions. In music I like Top 40 songs and some country. I do not watch a lot of television but when I do I enjoy reality shows, true story shows the most.

Where would you like to go now?

Graphics on this page by....

site closed

Copyright 2003 - 2019 * Jana's Web Design * All Rights Reserved